Paul’s Faithful Sayings #5

This is the last of five faithful sayings, which all appear in the pastoral epistles.  This is the only one not given to Timothy, but rather to Titus.

“This is a faithful saying, and these things I want you to affirm constantly, that those who have believed in God should be careful to maintain good works.These things are good and profitable to men.” – Titus 3:8 (NKJV)

The people of God are to be known for doing good.  A righteous life, a life of charity and blessing to others, is the essential outcome of a life-changing faith.  Somewhere I’ve heard it said that “Faith that does not change your lifestyle cannot change your destiny.” 

O how true that is.  Consider the woman I spoke with at an Indianapolis bus stop the other day while handing out gospel tracts.  In an apparent effort to positively identify with my faith in Christ, she smilingly told me, “My baby’s daddy is a preacher.  And he’s trying to get a divorce right now so that we can get married.”  I’m ashamed to say I was so astonished that I was nearly struck dumb at that point.  In disbelief I think I blurted out a “What!?” only to have her repeat herself and cheerfully reinforce the gloomy truth.  No coherent response even entered my befuddled mind.  Where’s Paul the apostle when you need him?  Suffice it to say his counsel is still needed:

These things I want you to affirm constantly, that those who have believed in God should be careful to maintain good works.”

Leave a Reply

