The God Who Answers Prayer

What sense would it make to call upon the Lord if we couldn’t do so in the midst of trouble?  What good would prayer ever be if we never expected God to answer?  

In the midst of his many difficulties, David remained confident.  He did so, not because he was a happy-go-lucky guy who just knew things would somehow work out.  He did so because he knew he could rely upon the Lord. 

You and I can have the same confidence that David had.  David’s God is still there and hasn’t changed a bit.  Let this prayer build your confidence in the God who answers in the day of trouble.

Bow down Your ear, O Lord, hear me;
For I am poor and needy. 

Preserve my life, for I am holy;
You are my God;
Save Your servant who trusts in You!

Be merciful to me, O Lord,
For I cry to You all day long.

Rejoice the soul of Your servant,
For to You, O Lord, I lift up my soul.

For You, Lord, are good, and ready to forgive,
And abundant in mercy to all those who call upon You.

Give ear, O Lord, to my prayer;
And attend to the voice of my supplications.

In the day of my trouble I will call upon You,
For You will answer me.

                                                – Psalm 86:1-7 (NKJV)

2 thoughts on “The God Who Answers Prayer

  1. this reminded me again of Joshua 7 – and the defeat at Ai where Joshua didn’t seek the Lord and disaster followed. I need constant reminder that I need God period. Whether it is trough tough times or straight after victory. Thanks Dave for your insight. God Bless you

Leave a Reply

