On Getting a Life

Complete dependence is a humbling concept – but humility, let’s face it, is a good thing.  I’d like to say there are some things I can handle, but readily admit that I need the Lord for the biggies.  Christ, however, sees it differently:

I am the vine, you are the branches. He who abides in Me, and I in him, bears much fruit; for without Me you can do nothing.” – John 15:5 (NKJV)

If I want my life to be worth something in light of eternity, I need to get this straight.  Without Him I can do nothing

On the other hand, by abiding in Him I tap into the source of the richest blessings.  Whatever Christ means by “much fruit” it has to be good.  At the end of the day, that’s what I want: fruit that came from my life that He has produced.  I can also think of it like this: 

What would my life look like if I got out of the way
and let Christ live my life for me? 

How would He handle my responsiblities and relationships?  No question He would handle them properly.  He would do a way better job with them than I have.  So be it.  Let’s embrace reality and give the Lord full authority to do whatever He wants. 

I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.” – Galatians 2:20 (NKJV)

Leave a Reply

