On Personal Revival

While reading this morning in Psalm 119, I was struck by the repeated phrase “revive me”. These two words make a remarkable personal prayer.

The American Heritage Dictionary defines revival as “a restoration to use, acceptance, activity, or vigor after a period of obscurity or quiescence.” Sometimes that’s exactly what we need. We all go through lulls, dry periods, valleys in our spiritual life. What better thing to do than to pray God’s own word back to Him in asking Him to restore us to life. Here are the nine verses from Psalm 119 taken from the NKJV:

25My soul clings to the dust;
       Revive me according to Your word.

37Turn away my eyes from looking at worthless things,
       And revive me in Your way.

40Behold, I long for Your precepts;
Revive me in Your righteousness.

88Revive me according to Your lovingkindness,
So that I may keep the testimony of Your mouth.

107I am afflicted very much;
Revive me, O Lord, according to Your word.

149Hear my voice according to Your lovingkindness;
O Lord, revive me according to Your justice.

154Plead my cause and redeem me;
Revive me according to Your word.

156Great are Your tender mercies, O Lord;
Revive me according to Your judgments.

159Consider how I love Your precepts;
Revive me, O Lord, according to Your lovingkindness.

2 thoughts on “On Personal Revival

Leave a Reply

